View Full Version : TS Webpost question?
axle_foley00
08-02-2003, 04:17 PM
Hello everyone,
I have seen gryphon's TS Webpost site and there is a link to download the code. I have downloaded the code, but notice that I need to have a "MySql" database setup. My question is, what information do I need to put in the database. I would like to use this script to display the TS servers for my squad and assosciate squads. Can I get a bit of help regarding this please? Thank you in advance and have a nice day/night.
axle_foley00[1]
axle_foley00
08-03-2003, 10:02 PM
okay let me get this straight. I am to create a database with the name "webpost2" then in this database there are to be 5 tables in that database.
1.weblist
2.user
3.channel
4.group
5.admin
Am I right? Also what data will go in each of those tables? what columns and what in the rows?
Stang
08-04-2003, 11:49 AM
He will tell you if you send him money :lol .
axle_foley00
08-04-2003, 03:19 PM
:eek: lol :)
seriously though can I get some help with this please.
axle_foley00
08-04-2003, 03:28 PM
edit: [double post] my bad.
Stang
08-04-2003, 04:20 PM
Im sure he will help ya when he gets the time, during the day he's at work and they like to keep him busy every once in a while :).
Dont worry he will help you though.
axle_foley00
08-04-2003, 05:42 PM
Thank you so very much Stang. Have a wonderful day/night! :)
Ghryphen
08-04-2003, 07:23 PM
Just create a database and run the admin/install.php in your browser. It will create the tables and as people set their teamspek to your webpost.php the information will be added to the tables.
axle_foley00
08-04-2003, 09:45 PM
lol thank you so much grphyon I really appreciate it. And to think that I was about to do soo much other crazy stuff. Thanks again. I will let you know if it works.
Ghryphen
08-04-2003, 10:41 PM
No problem. I think I need to re-write the readme. I believe it has old info from when you use to have to build the tables yourself.
axle_foley00
08-05-2003, 04:50 AM
hehe okay. I mean everything else in the instructions seemed pretty straight forward except that part about the database. But this is some really good code you have written here.
I am trying to learn php. Its a pretty interesting language and slowly but surely I am getting the hang of it. I have a little test site I am working on, but its only up when my home computer is up and the IP changes frequently. So maybe tomorrow I can post the IP address and if anyone wants to take a look at it they can.
By the way you have a pretty nice site here going for your squad "The Hounds of Zeus". I don't play tribes, but maybe when Tribes: Vengeance (which looks really good) comes out, i'll give it a try. I currently play Americas Army. Have you tried it?
Ghryphen
08-05-2003, 12:11 PM
Yeah, I have tried AA. I couldn't really get into it hehe. A lot of use are currently playing PlanetSide. I can't wait until T:V. :)
axle_foley00
08-05-2003, 01:22 PM
yeah planetside also looks interesting. I take it you would recommend Tribes to anyone huh?
axle_foley00
08-05-2003, 11:42 PM
okay I thought I would be problem free, but I have encountered another road block. Do I have to have a password for my database? if so, then how do I create a username and password for my database (I tried using the manual, but it didn't work). Also I get this shown on my screen when I try to run the install.php file when I leave the username and password field blank in the config.php file:
Warning: session_start(): open(/tmp\sess_a5caef84160862f6cb54c8bc481234bc, O_RDWR) failed: No such file or directory (2) in C:\Documents and Settings\Yannick\My Documents\test site\admin\db_inc.php on line 475
Warning: session_start(): Cannot send session cookie - headers already sent by (output started at C:\Documents and Settings\Yannick\My Documents\test site\admin\db_inc.php:475) in C:\Documents and Settings\Yannick\My Documents\test site\admin\db_inc.php on line 475
Warning: session_start(): Cannot send session cache limiter - headers already sent (output started at C:\Documents and Settings\Yannick\My Documents\test site\admin\db_inc.php:475) in C:\Documents and Settings\Yannick\My Documents\test site\admin\db_inc.php on line 475
Step 1
Welcome to the ssWebpost2 install script. Please make sure that the following information is correct. If it is not, please open the config.php file in a text editor and enter the correct information.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Host: localhost
Username:
Password:
Database: webpost2
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Warning: Unknown(): open(/tmp\sess_a5caef84160862f6cb54c8bc481234bc, O_RDWR) failed: No such file or directory (2) in Unknown on line 0
Warning: Unknown(): Failed to write session data (files). Please verify that the current setting of session.save_path is correct (/tmp) in Unknown on line 0
Not too sure what to do next to fix these errors?
Stang
08-06-2003, 11:37 AM
:s0006:
axle_foley00
08-06-2003, 01:00 PM
LOL oh dear that cannot be a good sign for me huh stang. lol j/k
Stang
08-06-2003, 05:00 PM
:lol
Ghryphen
08-06-2003, 07:31 PM
Yeah, I have to fix some problems with sessions. As far as username and pass for your database, that is something that is setup by you or your host.
axle_foley00
08-06-2003, 11:16 PM
so what should I do then gryphon? Is there something I can do to help, or would you have to modify the code. Maybe it is just something I am doing wrong b/c it works fine for you. When i actually put in a username and password (even though they aren't the correct one's, as I need to setup mysql properly with a username and password for the database) I get the following:
Warning: mysql_connect(): Access denied for user: 'kras@localhost' (Using password: YES) in C:\Documents and Settings\Yannick\My Documents\test site\admin\db_inc.php on line 54
[DATABASE ERROR:]1045: Access denied for user: 'kras@localhost' (Using password: YES)
I think maybe it is something that I am doing wrong and not really something wrong with the code you have given out.
Ghryphen
08-07-2003, 12:16 PM
Nothing wrong with the code. You are putting in the wrong username and password for your database, if it has a username and password setup at all. The script will not setup a name and pass, this is something you do on your server.
axle_foley00
08-10-2003, 09:36 PM
Okay I think I have Mysql setup properly, however I still get those session errors that I posted earlier. What should I do now?:confused:
Ghryphen
08-10-2003, 10:43 PM
Yeah, I probably didn't code the sessions correctly. I am going to change the code to use cookies for the admin login. I am not sure of the fix for this.
axle_foley00
08-11-2003, 04:35 AM
ok well just let me know when you have changed the code and I will test it out and let you know if it worked.
What I don't understand is how you got it working. I mean if you got it working and I am using the same code as you, then it should work, shouldn't it???
Anywho thanks for the quick responses. Peace and God Bless!!
Ghryphen
08-11-2003, 09:03 AM
Well, this site is hosted on really old software. I have purchased a dedicated server that I will be moving everything on this site to soon. I have tried the webpost on the new server that has all updated software and it does get errors. I just need to find the time to work on the webpost script.
axle_foley00
08-11-2003, 10:45 AM
Okay well I know you are a pretty busy guy, so take your time, I don't wanna rush ya. Once you get the chance to update the code, just let me know and I will download the new code and let you know if it works on my end. Have a nice day! :)
vBulletin® v3.7.0 Beta 4, Copyright ©2000-2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.