The Hounds of Zeus  

Go Back   The Hounds of Zeus > General > Main Forum
Xbox Leaderboard FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-18-2001, 01:33 PM   #1
Stormdancer
Forum Regular
 
Stormdancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: A forested mountainside
Age: 62
Posts: 57
Default WTB: 1ghz slot A Athlon

Anybody got one of these laying around they don't need? I don't want to have to upgrade my MoBo just because they've discontinued the slot A chips! Grrr!
__________________



Stormdancer
Mascot of The Hounds of Zeus
Proud member of the Dragon Talon Mercenaries
Stormdancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2001, 05:50 PM   #2
Gambit
Forum wh0re
 
Gambit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 744
Send a message via ICQ to Gambit Send a message via AIM to Gambit Send a message via Yahoo to Gambit
Default

Hmm.

800 MHz, pricewatch, $60.
http://www.pricewatch.com/1/3/2817-1.htm


Soon-to-be-expired auction on ebay. 1G, w/fan, $170 (yikes!)
http://cgi.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI...tem=1255907629

950 w/MB, $150
http://cgi.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI...tem=1255958124

Search I used for these:
http://search.ebay.com/search/search...ry=athlon+slot


(I know, you know how to look at pricewatch and ebay. You got me curious, though, so I thought I'd post the links whilst I browsed. )
__________________
XMEN member
Card-carrying DTM
OKL Fish-napper


Though a program be but three lines long,
someday it will have to be maintained.
-The Tao of Programming
Gambit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2001, 07:42 AM   #3
Mythril Gear
Registered User
 
Mythril Gear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: MG's Apple Orchard
Age: 38
Posts: 215
Default

What if you used one of those FCPGA converters? They're also called "slocket", and they fit a socket-style chip on the front, and the end of it goes into a slot-type mobo.
__________________
Mythril Gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2001, 01:55 PM   #4
THZDax
Forum Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 348
Default

/me thinking "I WAS smart"


huh what is this your talking about? Do i have to worry ??

i have a


[edit #1]
1.2 gzh K7 athalon do i have to worry about the socet being disconnected ???
[end #1]


[edit #3]

I had it say edit #1 too
Dont i suck ??
is this confusing to anyone else?
[edit #2]
[end #3]
every time i read this it still doesnt make any sence.

What i mean is will i have to worry about replacement parts not being there if i ever have problems ??
[end #2]

Last edited by THZDax; 07-23-2001 at 02:03 PM.
THZDax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2001, 12:19 PM   #5
Stormdancer
Forum Regular
 
Stormdancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: A forested mountainside
Age: 62
Posts: 57
Default

Well, boo hoo. No 1ghz for me.

However, the wife and I made a deal, after I helped build her new machine.

In one month, mine gets to look just like it. New A7V board, fast backplane, 512MB RAM, and whatever CPU costs about what her 1.3 ghz one did. Which at the current rate of change means I can probably get a 1.5ghz. WOOT!

EDIT: Oh, Dax... your post made my head hurt. I have no pantsing clue what you're trying to say.
__________________



Stormdancer
Mascot of The Hounds of Zeus
Proud member of the Dragon Talon Mercenaries

Last edited by Stormdancer; 07-30-2001 at 12:22 PM.
Stormdancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2001, 02:35 PM   #6
THZDax
Forum Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 348
Default

thats cause some times My brain works almost in peices and chinks of infomatin .

and then i edit it the realise that i made a mistake agin.

I just did all the

**start edit stuff**

To show you guys i didnt know what i was talking about either
THZDax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:27 PM.




Since
April 6, 1999
The Hounds of Zeus Logo and all original content Copyright 1999 - Gryphon, LLC All rights reserved.
vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft
Have a nice day!