The Hounds of Zeus  

Go Back   The Hounds of Zeus > General > Main Forum
Xbox Leaderboard FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-14-2006, 04:26 AM   #1
Cerberus
One bad mofo'n Hound
 
Cerberus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Your Mom's House
Age: 46
Posts: 1,319
Default pc clock runs fast

any idea why my pc clock would be running fast i gain 5 minutes a day and have to resync
Cerberus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2006, 01:16 PM   #2
Gambit
Forum wh0re
 
Gambit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 744
Send a message via ICQ to Gambit Send a message via AIM to Gambit Send a message via Yahoo to Gambit
Default

Sometimes they do that when the CMOS battery gets low, but isn't your rig way too new? Or was it off for a long period while you were off playing in the sand? Not much you can do if that's not it, just have to put a resync script in your startup.
__________________
XMEN member
Card-carrying DTM
OKL Fish-napper


Though a program be but three lines long,
someday it will have to be maintained.
-The Tao of Programming
Gambit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2006, 07:46 PM   #3
Stikes
Registered User
 
Stikes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Everett, WA
Age: 38
Posts: 49
Send a message via AIM to Stikes
Default

just enable auto-sync
__________________
Stikes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2006, 09:20 PM   #4
Cerberus
One bad mofo'n Hound
 
Cerberus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Your Mom's House
Age: 46
Posts: 1,319
Default

auto sync only works once a week, and I don't think there is an option to update it. My mobo is about 2 years old guess i need a new battery. seems like it would run slower.
Cerberus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2006, 03:14 PM   #5
Gambit
Forum wh0re
 
Gambit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 744
Send a message via ICQ to Gambit Send a message via AIM to Gambit Send a message via Yahoo to Gambit
Default

You'd think so, wouldn't ya?

Used to be those batteries would keep the system in reasonable shape for 5-7 years or so. But if it spent a long time turned off that would speed up the process. Note that your issue may NOT be the battery, but it's the only thing I can think of.

Last edited by Gambit; 01-15-2006 at 03:16 PM.
Gambit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2006, 11:19 PM   #6
XMEN Ashaman DTM
Forum wh0re
 
XMEN Ashaman DTM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 45
Posts: 965
Send a message via ICQ to XMEN Ashaman DTM
Default

Yeah, clock generators are wear items, but they don't wear out THAT quickly. Chances are that it's the CMOS battery. It's an extremly unlikely event that it could be a short, especially if you haven't done anything to it, and that's really the only other thing that I can think of.

I've only seen clock generators go bad a couple of times. Both times they had an insane amount of voltage on them (way out of spec for these particular ones). They ran faster, then when the correct voltage was used, they still ran faster.

If you have access to an oscilloscope at your house, hook it up.

If not, or you don't want to spend a lot of time with it, just get a brand new battery from Bartell's or Radio Shack. They're the same batteries used in watches and calculators.
XMEN Ashaman DTM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
/me checks is clock Maz Main Forum 9 11-09-2001 08:20 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:37 AM.




Since
April 6, 1999
The Hounds of Zeus Logo and all original content Copyright 1999 - Gryphon, LLC All rights reserved.
vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft
Have a nice day!