The Hounds of Zeus  

Go Back   The Hounds of Zeus > General > Main Forum
Xbox Leaderboard FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-20-2004, 12:44 PM   #1
Gryphon
THZ Founder
 
Gryphon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: WA, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 3,927
Default hehe

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	slickssig.jpg
Views:	297
Size:	15.7 KB
ID:	373  
Gryphon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2004, 01:49 PM   #2
Squeeky
Registered User
 
Squeeky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vista, CA
Age: 33
Posts: 27
Send a message via AIM to Squeeky
Default

"You have succesfully used windows for a period of time exceeding 10 seconds, without receiving a fatal error. Please reboot windows to correct this problem"
__________________
Squeeky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2004, 04:05 PM   #3
Stang
Team Captain
 
Stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Everett, WA, USA
Age: 48
Posts: 3,859
Send a message via ICQ to Stang Send a message via AIM to Stang
Default

Stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2004, 03:28 AM   #4
Maz
Forum wh0re
 
Maz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Canada
Age: 39
Posts: 1,429
Default

everytime I unplug my mouse, I have to reboot, :\
__________________
Maz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2004, 05:59 AM   #5
insaneferret
Forum Regular
 
insaneferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Age: 37
Posts: 303
Send a message via MSN to insaneferret
Default

i get this one every now and then:

"an unknown error has occured"
OK

how did they know it occured then
__________________
insaneferret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2004, 06:13 AM   #6
Maz
Forum wh0re
 
Maz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Canada
Age: 39
Posts: 1,429
Default

it's a error that occured, but internet explorer is unsure what the cause of the error is, it's caused by spyware, scan your pc with ad-aware and spybot, then re-install internet explorer
__________________
Maz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2004, 02:38 PM   #7
Nilk
Registered User
 
Nilk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: winter garden, FL
Age: 47
Posts: 142
Send a message via ICQ to Nilk Send a message via AIM to Nilk Send a message via MSN to Nilk Send a message via Yahoo to Nilk
Default

it could just be caused by IE hearing voices, it gets scared and hangs
__________________
BT_InPsyte
Nilk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 10:31 AM   #8
KitZune
Transgendered
 
KitZune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Burlington Ontario (Near Toronto)
Age: 39
Posts: 1,079
Send a message via ICQ to KitZune Send a message via AIM to KitZune Send a message via MSN to KitZune
Default

We got maz spammed.... I think things are getting back to normal around here ; P
__________________

She's named after Judas... Not a CARROT

Click here to view my artwork
KitZune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 09:18 AM   #9
Gambit
Forum wh0re
 
Gambit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 744
Send a message via ICQ to Gambit Send a message via AIM to Gambit Send a message via Yahoo to Gambit
Default

The unknown errors happen because of coding practices. Probably an exception handler. It goes something like this:
---------------
Do something
Do something else
Try {
Do something dangerous
}
Catch any errors from try block{
is error #1?
print "Don't DO that!"
go somewhere else.
is error #2?
Print "hard drive missing!"
go somewhere else.
is other error?
Print "Unknown Error!"
Show blue screen of death.
}
No errors from try block, so
Keep doing stuff
Keep doing more stuff
-------------------
Now, the stuff in the "catch" block only runs if there was an error in the "try" block, otherwise it's skipped and the program continues normally.
So a programmer writes something like this, and can't write code to cover every conceivable error or he misses one or another programmer added something to the "dangerous" code or most of the program is inside a "try" block just in case someone forgets to put one where it's really needed. Or a combination of factors.

That's how you get "unknown error" exceptions.

In general, an unknown error happens when something is not successful but you have not prepared for this particular type of failure.

For a real-world example, say your car won't start. Well, you have a spare battery in case you have a battery problem. And you have a spare starter you can change out if that's the problem. If either of those happens, you're prepared and can deal with it, even though it's a pain. But if the problem is that the fuel filter is clogged and you don't have a spare one, you're not prepared for it and may not even have a clue what is wrong.

Wow. Didn't mean to go on so long and I'll shut up now...
__________________
XMEN member
Card-carrying DTM
OKL Fish-napper


Though a program be but three lines long,
someday it will have to be maintained.
-The Tao of Programming
Gambit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 10:33 AM   #10
Gryphon
THZ Founder
 
Gryphon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: WA, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 3,927
Default

Gryphon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 01:26 PM   #11
Nilk
Registered User
 
Nilk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: winter garden, FL
Age: 47
Posts: 142
Send a message via ICQ to Nilk Send a message via AIM to Nilk Send a message via MSN to Nilk Send a message via Yahoo to Nilk
Default

is there anyway, to get XP to slow down on restarting from a BSoD? I'd ctually like to read the error report, to try and figuyre out the problem. Having a BSoD that pops up for a literal second, is kind of tough to read.
__________________
BT_InPsyte
Nilk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 04:42 PM   #12
Gryphon
THZ Founder
 
Gryphon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: WA, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 3,927
Default

Yeah, go to Control Panel > Performance and Maintenence > System > Advanced Tab > Settings for Startup and Recovery > Uncheck Automatically Restart in the System Failure section.
Gryphon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2004, 03:49 AM   #13
Maz
Forum wh0re
 
Maz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Canada
Age: 39
Posts: 1,429
Default

geeks
__________________
Maz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2004, 08:26 AM   #14
Nilk
Registered User
 
Nilk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: winter garden, FL
Age: 47
Posts: 142
Send a message via ICQ to Nilk Send a message via AIM to Nilk Send a message via MSN to Nilk Send a message via Yahoo to Nilk
Default

I even have a nifty Geek Membership Badge
a wristwatch, that connects, to a sattelite and gives me news updates
okay it can receive pages too
__________________
BT_InPsyte
Nilk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2004, 11:40 AM   #15
Squeeky
Registered User
 
Squeeky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vista, CA
Age: 33
Posts: 27
Send a message via AIM to Squeeky
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maz
geeks
HEY POT
SUP KETTLE?
YOUR BLACK DUDE!!
OMG NO WAY!!

__________________
Squeeky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hehe STUWEY Main Forum 1 04-12-2004 11:43 AM
Hehe Gryphon Main Forum 27 12-18-2002 01:16 PM
Hehe falsies Gryphon Main Forum 4 11-20-2001 11:11 PM
Hehe Gryphon Main Forum 4 10-26-2001 04:55 AM
Hehe Gryphon Main Forum 9 05-24-2001 05:19 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:01 PM.




Since
April 6, 1999
The Hounds of Zeus Logo and all original content Copyright 1999 - Gryphon, LLC All rights reserved.
vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft
Have a nice day!